As of January 2018, California State Law requires retailers to collect a $10.50 “recycle fee” on each mattress, box spring, foundation, and base sold. Similarly, Rhode Island imposes a recycling fee of $16.00 and Connecticut a fee of $9.00.
This recycling fee is “per piece” so if your box spring or foundation comes in two pieces, the fee will be charged for each piece. The state approved the amount of the fee and it is not set or controlled by the retailer.
The fee funds the state’s mattress recycling program, which is administered by the Mattress Recycling Council.
Why do I have to pay the fee and what does it pay for?
The state law requires retailers to collect a recycling fee on each mattress and box spring sold. The amount of the fee was approved by the state and is not set or controlled by individual retailers. The fee funds the state’s recycling program.
If I don’t plan to recycle an old mattress, why do I have to pay this fee?
The state law requires retailers to collect this fee on any mattress and box spring sale to fund the state’s mattress recycling program.
Even if you aren’t parting with your mattress right now, a mattress doesn’t last forever, and will eventually be discarded. The program uses a network of participating cities, towns, retailers, recyclers and other organizations to collect, transport and properly recycle your old mattress.
If I decide to recycle the mattress myself, do I still pay the fee?
Yes, state law requires retailers to collect this fee on any mattress and box spring sale to fund the state’s mattress recycling program.
You may receive a modest financial incentive if you drop off your used mattress or box springs at a designated recycling location.
I didn’t pay this fee on my old mattress, so will it be accepted for recycling?
Yes, all mattresses originating in participating states are eligible for no-cost recycling, regardless of when they were purchased.
A retailer didn’t take back my old mattress because it deemed it unacceptable. Can MRC or the store refund my recycling fee?
No, state law requires retailers to collect this fee on any mattress and box spring sale to fund the state’s mattress recycling program. Contaminated mattresses posing a health or safety hazard are not eligible for recycling through the program.
Now that we have this new program, what happens to my old mattress or box spring?
The old mattresses and/or box springs are dismantled and the steel, foam, fabric and wood are separated and used to make new products. To learn more about mattress recycling visit Mattress Recycling Council.